BRICS Network University is an association of educational institutions of higher education of the BRICS countries.

BRICS NU is an educational project aimed to the development of mainly bilateral and multilateral joint educational programs, master's and PhD training programs as well as joint research projects in various fields in accordance with the general standards and quality criteria. All the programs have to meet state standards of BRICS countries. 

MoU_BRICS_NU.pdfMemorandum of understanding on establishment of the BRICS NU

At BRICS NU creation the following priority areas of learning were established:

  • Energy;
  • Computer science and information security;
  • BRICS studies;
  • Ecology and climate change;
  • Water resources and pollution treatment;
  • Economics.

The Ministry of Education and Science of Russia has approved a list  of 12 Russian universities, which became part of the BRICS NU.

Order of February 10, 2016 №99 "On approval of the list of educational institutions of higher education – BRICS NU Participants"

It includes MGIMO, Lomonosov Moscow State University, MIPT, National University of Science and Technology “MISiS”, Tomsk Polytechnic University (TPU), Higher School of Economics, MPEI, Tomsk State University, Peoples' Friendship University of Russia, St. Petersburg State University, ITMO University and Ural Federal University.

University's mission is to combine the resources of the participating countries to provide national economies with professional staff, conducting joint research.

Principles for the establishment and operation of BRICS NU

Letter of the Ministry of Education and Science of Russia of 12.08.2015 №05-10058